Dublin Was Great, But I Still Don’t Look Good in Green

IMG_6149My next stop just so happened to be the city of Dublin. I wasn’t originally planning on going to Ireland, but after thinking about it, Ireland has always been on my list of places to visit. It just didn’t make sense to skip a day or two in Dublin when I was so close! I don’t think my father will remember this, but as my family knows I remember the weirdest things. When I was 10 or 11, I told my dad that for my 20th birthday I wanted a big gift. (Actually, I told my whole family because we were driving to vacation somewhere in out White Chevy Trailblazer). Naturally, he asked me what I wanted. I told him that for my 20th birthday I wanted to go to Ireland or China. It’s a little delayed, but I’m 20 and I made it to Ireland, 10 year old Meaghan was kind of a psychic.

But did 10 year old Meaghan did not know she'd ever take a selfie at St. Patrick's Cathedral
But did 10 year old Meaghan did not know she’d ever take a selfie at St. Patrick’s Cathedral

The Edinburgh to Dublin flight was quick and easy. Dublin didn’t give me a hard time at customs like London, in fact they set the tone of my trip very quickly. The Irish people I met in Dublin were amazingly helpful and friendly and very quick to crack a witty joke. The city itself felt safe and welcoming, reassuring my choice to visit Dublin.

Dublin is Pretty Freakin' Cool
Dublin is Pretty Freakin’ Cool

My first day I arrived in Dublin around 10am and was greeted by a beautiful, gray, raincloud. I decided to sit in a cafe and wait for my hostel room to be ready so I could put my bags away and get on with my day. After a few hours of journaling and watching Netflix, I was able to put my bags away and meet up with my friend (actually, my Florence roommate).

IMG_6155

Mini-Guinness
Mini-Guinness

We decided to try some gourmet Irish Pulled Pork BBQ sandwiches for lunch, before heading out to the Guinness Storehouse. The Storehouse was awesome! It’s a seven story building, each level walks you through the story of Guinness. From the first level, where they take you through the ingredients in the beer, to the smells and tastes of the beer, to how to pour he beer and drink the beer, and all the history and advertisements in between.

IMG_6165 By the end of it, I poured a beer and enjoyed it in a posh panoramic bar overlooking all of Dublin. The entire floor of the storehouse is a bar/lounge with ceiling to floor windows.  Somehow, Guinness tastes that much better in the Storehouse Skylounge.

IMG_6182That night Carrie and I met up with her friends in a pub and had a huge Irish meal. By that I mean I had corned beef, two types of potatoes, and some carrots and beer. Later in the night, there was live music and Irish step dancers. I actually got to dance a little Irish jig, bringing back some childhood memories.

It feels (and tastes) like home
It feels (and tastes) like home

The next day I went on a “free walking tour” offered by the hostel (fun fact: it’s not really  free). It was an awesome tour and I got to see all of the city and learn most of the history of not only Dublin, but of Ireland itself. After I walked around some of the shops and saw the main strip of the city. It was beautiful and a jam-packed day.

IMG_6200 IMG_6187I had to end my night early, as I was up at 4am for my flight to Glasgow, but I loved Dublin. I really wish that I could’ve seen way more of Ireland. Unfortunately, I didn’t have time, but now it just gives me an excuse to go back. I will definitely be back to Ireland and I really enjoyed my time. Dublin was my second to last stop, so keep your eyes out to hear about Glasgow soon!

Leave a comment